Chapter Two: The Night to Remember.

As told by Damia’
3 min readSep 2, 2020

--

After the so-called spontaneous agreements made by two families, a wedding date was finally settled and it was agreed on 14th December 2018. Can you imagine planning a wedding in less than three months? At first, I thought it was impossible to do so as I have assignments piling up, deadlines to meet and not to mention, studying for upcoming exams! I was this close 🤏 to turn into a Student Bridezilla. I think my main concern was choosing THE dress and make-up, I was not a girly girl growing up. I have always been the “printed t-shirt, flip flops and jeans” kind of girl.

Bridezilla Moment (https://tenor.com/view/anne-hathaway-cold-feet-gif-10162102)

How did I manage to plan a wedding in three months while dealing with Uni stuffs at the same time you may ask? If it weren’t for my mother, father and three sisters, I don’t think I was able to manage my time juggling both jobs at once. We were able to save a lot of money because of them and you will know why. My wedding was not that “extra” as you would like to call it, I kept my wedding as simple as possible. My family mostly helped me with the wedding planning, specfically in chosing souvenirs, list of guests, sending out wedding invitations, catering service and the rest was up to me. I was only in charge of the following:

  1. Choosing a wedding service for designing my home pelamin, wedding dress and other wedding essentials.
  2. Designing my wedding invitation.

Basically, that was it.

I did my research and meetings with several potential wedding services and was able to find one in less than a month. After that, I was able to focus on my study again. I have to admit that it was difficult to focus on my study after realising the fact that I was about to get married in two months. Mostly, I was worried, which then turned into negative thinking which mostly relates to getting married WHILE I am still studying.

What if I got pregnant after a few months getting married? Will I still be able to focus on my study? What if I cannot cope with it? Will my husband still want me to finish my Degree?

These were negative thoughts I have in mind at the time, even during lectures. I was worried about the future, my future.

A few minor breakdowns, assignments and exams later, it was already December 2018. On the night of 13th December 2018, it was my night of powdering (Malam Berbedak) where my family, friends and husband’s side came to our home and so-called bless me by smearing a specially made up of colored rice flour and scented oil ointment.

I borrowed and wore this beautiful hand-me-down red dress and shoes from my third sister. I didn’t hire a make-up artist or stylist because I “hired” my second and fourth sisters. My second sister was in charge of styling my traditional Berbedak accessories which includes styling the HEAVY brass headgear I was wearing and as for my fourth sister, she was my make-up artist for the night. The kain songket that I was wearing at the time was my father’s. I still remember the time where my father walked me out of my bedroom and he held my shaky hands tightly (I was nervous) and brought me to the pelamin and led me to my seat. The night was both beautiful and meaningful to me mainly because of my family. They made it memorable.

13th December 2018

--

--

As told by Damia’
0 Followers

Story of my life as a Student, Wife & Soon-to-be mother. #ax3305